Cheyenne Regional Medical Center Pharmacist Receives National Excellence in Innovation Award

April 22, 2021

Cheyenne, WY—Cheyenne Regional Medical Center Pharmacist Nathon Parker has been presented with an Excellence in Innovation Award from the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations (NASPA).

The Excellence in Innovation Award recognizes qualified pharmacists who have demonstrated significant innovation in their practice, method or service directly or indirectly resulting in improved patient care and/or the advancement of the profession of pharmacy. The annual award is presented by participating state pharmacist associations.

Parker is one of 42 pharmacists from across the nation who were presented with the Excellence in Innovation Award for 2020. Parker is the only pharmacist from Wyoming to receive a 2020 award.

Parker was recognized for his work on CRMC’s pharmacist-drive penicillin allergy assessment and skin-testing program (PAAST).

“The goal of PAAST is to optimize patient treatment, reduce the development of multidrug-resistant organisms and help reduce costs for our patients and our health system,” Parker said. “To get to where we are has taken several years of dedicated work on the part of many pharmacists, physicians and other clinical staff at Cheyenne Regional Medical Center. I want to thank everyone here who has worked so hard to make this patient-focused program a reality.”

Parker is also a member of the Advisory Board of the University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy PAAST Certificate Program. As part of his advisory board duties, Parker teaches other healthcare professionals in the Rocky Mountain region about PAAST.

“Our health system is extremely proud of the work that Nathon has done in support of improved healthcare for patients from our community and the Rocky Mountain region,” said Timothy Thornell, CRMC chief executive officer and president. “We also want to thank Nathon for his dedication, innovation and commitment and to congratulate him for being recognized with this prestigious national award.”

The annual Excellence in Innovation Award is coordinated by NASPA and sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories.

“For nearly a decade, The National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations has had the opportunity to partner with Upsher-Smith to recognize pharmacists who have demonstrated an unwavering commitment to patients and dedication to advancing pharmacy,” said Rebecca Snead, executive vice president of the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations. “As we continue to cope with a global pandemic, we are reminded of the critical role that our pharmacists play in helping patients stay healthy. We are also very grateful to Upsher-Smith for supporting these pharmacists with the Excellence in Innovation Award.”